Compare

EvenStep vs Upstep: Turnaround, Guarantee, Method, Price

EvenStep and Upstep side by side on facts a buyer can check: stated turnaround, refund terms, capture method, price and where the orthotics are made.

The short version

  • EvenStep wrote this page, so Upstep's column is built only from Upstep's own pages, quoted with the URL, the date and an archived copy; our column is the same set of numbers every page of this site uses.
  • Turnaround: Upstep publishes three windows across three pages; EvenStep publishes one figure, measured from receipt of your impression.
  • Guarantee: both use the same window; Upstep's terms deduct a share at every stage and exclude shipping fees, while EvenStep's refund has no deductions.
  • Method and price: Upstep uses an app scan and a permanent-sale ladder beside a timer; EvenStep uses a foam impression under your own weight and a flat price with no list price to strike through.
  • Neither product has been shown superior in a published trial, so choose on the facts you can check, and see a clinician first if you have any red flag.

Take the 50-second quiz

EvenStepUpstep
Stated delivery promiseUnder 10 business days from the day your impression arrives, or a full refund16-22 business days of your scan [1]; 10-16 in the same page's FAQ [2]; 12-18 from receipt of an impression box in the terms [3]
Money-back window180 days180 days [4]
Refund after delivery100% of the price, no deductionsOrthotic price less a 30% deduction after a 21-day adjustment period [4]; shipping fees not refunded [5]
Return shipping on a refundReturn shipping is free; we send the label and you return the pair by mailNot stated for custom orthotics in the terms we archived; original, expedited and rush shipping fees are non-refundable [5]
Refund processingIssued by a person at EvenStep to your original payment methodWithin 14 to 18 business days after the returned product is received [6]
RemakesFit adjustments and remakes are included at no charge during the guarantee window.One complimentary remake after the adjustment period [7]
Shell warrantyNot yet published; our guarantee covers the full window8-year breakage warranty on the shell [8]
Capture methodat-home foam impression kitPhone scan through the app [9]; impression kit also described [10]
First pair$189$239 sale price against a $458 list price [11]
Additional pairs$139 each$149 second pair, $114 any additional pair [12]
Made whereMilled and finished by hand in our New York workshopNot stated on the archived pages; terms name UPSTEP Ltd. as the operator [13]
Who designs itPhysician-founded; designs reviewed by our medical directorIn-house team of fully licensed podiatrists [14]
PaymentFSA/HSA eligible — pay with your FSA/HSA card at checkout or submit our itemized receipt. We don't bill insurance.FSA/HSA eligible; cannot file insurance claims for customers [15]
  1. [1] Your Upsteps are created and shipped within 16-22 business days of your scan. — www.upstep.com, accessed 2026-09-15
  2. [2] Your new custom orthotics will be shipped to you within 10-16 business days of completing your foot scan. — www.upstep.com, accessed 2026-09-15
  3. [3] Products will generally be shipped to you within 12-18 business days of the date of receiving the impression box from the customer and confirming the impression was taken as instructed. — www.upstep.com, accessed 2026-09-15
  4. [4] After delivery, following the 21-day adjustment period and within 180 days of delivery | 30% — www.upstep.com, accessed 2026-09-15
  5. [5] Original shipping, expedited shipping and rush-order fees are non-refundable. — www.upstep.com, accessed 2026-09-15
  6. [6] Refunds will be issued only to the original payment method used at checkout and processed within fourteen (14) to eighteen (18) business days following receipt of the returned product. — www.upstep.com, accessed 2026-09-15
  7. [7] Customers are entitled to one (1) complimentary remake of the Custom Orthotic within the applicable guarantee period if the orthotic fit is deemed unsuitable following the initial twenty-one (21) day adjustment period. — www.upstep.com, accessed 2026-09-15
  8. [8] Your new Upstep custom orthotics include an 8-year breakage warranty on the orthotic shell (the bottom layer), covering breaks or cracks. — www.upstep.com, accessed 2026-09-15
  9. [9] Download the Upstep app and scan your feet in minutes. — www.upstep.com, accessed 2026-09-15
  10. [10] Get Upstep's impression kit within 3 business days, imprint your feet at home, and send it back free of charge with our pre-paid return shipping label. — www.upstep.com, accessed 2026-09-14
  11. [11] $458 SALE $239 — www.upstep.com, accessed 2026-09-14
  12. [12] 2nd PAIR - $149 (60% OFF); ANY ADITIONAL PAIR only $114 (75% OFF) — www.upstep.com, accessed 2026-09-14
  13. [13] This website is owned by and operated by UPSTEP Ltd. — www.upstep.com, accessed 2026-09-15
  14. [14] We can proudly say that our orthotics are 100% custom-made and manufactured by our in-house team of fully licensed podiatrists. — www.upstep.com, accessed 2026-09-15
  15. [15] Unfortunately, we cannot make a health insurance claim on behalf of customers, nor guarantee that a health care provider will cover for an orthotic purchase. — www.upstep.com, accessed 2026-09-15
  16. [16] if you’re not in love with them within 180 days, we’ll refund your money - no questions asked! — www.upstep.com, accessed 2026-09-14

Ground rules

We are one half of this comparison, so the other half is built from Upstep’s own pages, quoted with the URL and the date we read each one, with an archived copy kept for every quote. Our own column uses the same numbers as every page on this site and your receipt. Neither column makes a clinical claim, because no published study compares the two products; the trials that exist test foot orthoses as a category, not brands (see Sources).

Turnaround

Upstep’s How it Works page states that orthotics are created and shipped within 16-22 business days of the scan [1]. The FAQ on the same page states 10-16 business days [2], and the terms state 12-18 business days from receipt of an impression box [3]. All three are production windows before the carrier’s transit, and they disagree with one another by a week or more.

EvenStep publishes one delivery figure: under 10 business days from the day your impression arrives at our workshop, or a full refund — if it is late you can cancel for a full refund. The same figure appears on every page of this site that mentions delivery, because all of them read one file.

Guarantee and refunds

Both companies name the same window. Upstep’s product page promises a refund within 180 days in the plainest possible words [16]. Its terms describe something more detailed. Deductions rise by stage and reach 30% after delivery, following a 21-day adjustment period [4]. Original, expedited and rush shipping fees are excluded [5]. Refunds are processed within 14 to 18 business days of receiving the returned product [6], and one complimentary remake is granted after the adjustment period [7]. The shell carries an 8-year breakage warranty [8]. The terms we archived do not say who pays the return shipping on a pair of orthotics sent back for a refund.

EvenStep’s guarantee reads, in full: 180-day 100% money-back guarantee — no deductions, free return shipping. Remakes are included, return shipping is free, and we send the label. Refunds are issued by a person on our team to your original payment method. We have not yet published a separate shell warranty; the guarantee covers the full window, and any warranty we add will appear on the policies page first.

How your foot is captured

Upstep’s current process is a phone scan through its app [9], although the product page we archived still describes an at-home impression kit that is sent back at no charge [10]. EvenStep uses an at-home foam impression kit: you step into the foam under your own weight, the impression records the shape of your foot as it actually loads, and you mail it back with shipping paid both ways. No trial we can cite shows either method producing better outcomes. Take the choice as a preference about process rather than a claim about results.

Price

The Upstep product page we archived shows a list price of $458 struck through to $239 [11], with the second pair at $149 and any additional pair at $114 [12]. EvenStep charges $189 for the first pair and $139 for each additional pair, every day, with no list price and no timer. Compare the checkout figure on the day you order rather than the percentage in a banner, and remember that a second pair for a different shoe type is the sensible purchase with either company, because orthotics do not travel well between sneakers and work boots.

Who makes it, and where

Upstep describes its orthotics as designed and made by an in-house team of fully licensed podiatrists [14]. The pages we archived do not state where the product is manufactured. The terms identify the site operator as UPSTEP Ltd. [13]. EvenStep is physician-founded, its designs are reviewed by our medical director, and every pair is built in our own New York workshop. Both companies describe their products as FSA and HSA eligible, and both say they cannot file insurance claims for customers [15]; ours reads: FSA/HSA eligible — pay with your FSA/HSA card at checkout or submit our itemized receipt. We don't bill insurance.

What this comparison cannot tell you

It cannot tell you which orthotic will feel better in your shoe, because no study compares them and because fit is individual. It also cannot tell you how either company will handle a problem order, which is where the refund table and the remake terms matter most. It cannot tell you whether an app scan or a foam impression suits you, because that is a preference. And it cannot replace a clinician if your pain followed an injury, wakes you at night, or comes with swelling, numbness, fever, diabetes or poor circulation. On those questions, the honest answer from either company is the same: see someone first.

Verdict

Choose Upstep if a large catalog, an app-based scan and a long shell warranty matter most and the published wait suits you. Choose EvenStep if a single written turnaround figure, a refund without deductions, a physician-founded company and a workshop of our own matter more. Every number in our column comes from one written set of numbers, every quotation in theirs links to its source with a date, and our policies page overrules any page on this site that disagrees with it.

Verdict. Choose Upstep if a large catalog, an app scan and a long shell warranty matter most and the wait suits you. Choose EvenStep if one written turnaround figure, a refund without deductions, a physician-founded company and a workshop of our own matter more. Neither product has been shown superior in a trial, and this page does not claim otherwise.

Sources

  1. Foot orthoses for plantar heel pain: a systematic review and meta-analysis (Whittaker et al., 2018) — Br J Sports Med via PubMed 28935689, accessed 2026-09-15
  2. Effectiveness of foot orthoses to treat plantar fasciitis: a randomized trial (Landorf et al., 2006) — Arch Intern Med via PubMed 16801514, accessed 2026-09-15

FAQ

Common questions

Still unsure? Write to care@evensteporthotics.com — a person answers.

Which company is faster, EvenStep or Upstep?

Upstep publishes three production windows across its How it Works page, its FAQ and its terms, all quoted above with dates. EvenStep publishes one figure, measured from receipt of your impression, and the same figure appears on every page of this site that mentions turnaround. Neither company's figure includes carrier transit.

Do both offer the same money-back window?

Both use the same six-month window. Upstep's terms apply stage-based deductions that reach their largest after delivery and exclude shipping fees, while EvenStep's refund comes with no deductions and free return shipping. The exact wording of both is quoted or rendered on this page.

Is a foam impression or a phone scan more accurate?

No published trial we can cite shows one method produces better outcomes than the other. A scan removes the kit from the process; a foam impression captures the foot under your own weight. The workshop's skill with either matters more than the method.

Why does EvenStep compare itself to Upstep by name?

Because the people reading this are deciding between us, and a comparison built from quoted, dated, archived pages is fairer than the adjectives on either home page. We would rather be held to the same standard than avoid the comparison.

Are EvenStep orthotics clinically better than Upstep's?

We do not know, and neither does anyone else, because no study compares them. Trials on foot orthoses in general show they help plantar heel pain over two to three months, with custom devices not clearly better than good prefabricated ones (a 2018 meta-analysis and a 2006 randomized trial, listed under Sources). We compete on speed, terms and transparency, not on a clinical claim.

What if I have a red flag like night pain or numbness?

See a clinician before ordering from either company. Injury, swelling, redness, fever, numbness, night pain, diabetes and poor circulation all need an examination that no mail-order product can provide.