Compare

Upstep Alternatives: How to Choose a Custom Orthotics Brand

Looking for an Upstep alternative? A five-fact checklist for judging any mail-order custom orthotics company, with Upstep's own published figures as baseline.

The short version

  • Written by a competitor. Every statement about Upstep below is a dated quotation from an Upstep page with an archived copy; other brands are described only in general terms because we have not archived their pages.
  • The five facts that separate mail-order custom orthotics companies are turnaround in writing, the refund table, the capture method, the price you would actually pay, and where the product is made.
  • Upstep publishes three turnaround windows, a stage-based refund table, an app scan alongside an impression kit, and a permanent-sale price ladder; it does not state a manufacturing location on the pages we archived.
  • EvenStep answers all five in writing: a single turnaround figure, a refund without deductions, a foam impression, a flat price and a workshop of our own.

Take the 50-second quiz

EvenStepUpstep
Delivery in writingUnder 10 business days from the day your impression arrives, or a full refundThree windows on three pages: 16-22 [1], 10-16 [2] and 12-18 business days [3]
Refund after delivery100% of the price, no deductionsOrthotic price less a 30% deduction after the 21-day adjustment period [4]; shipping fees not refunded [5]
Capture methodat-home foam impression kitApp-based phone scan [6]; impression kit also described [7]
Price you would pay for one pair$189$239 against a struck-through $458 list price [8]
Where it is madeMilled and finished by hand in our New York workshopNot stated on the pages we archived; the terms name UPSTEP Ltd. as the site operator [9]
Who designs itPhysician-founded; designs reviewed by our medical directorIn-house team of fully licensed podiatrists [10]
  1. [1] Your Upsteps are created and shipped within 16-22 business days of your scan. — www.upstep.com, accessed 2026-09-15
  2. [2] Your new custom orthotics will be shipped to you within 10-16 business days of completing your foot scan. — www.upstep.com, accessed 2026-09-15
  3. [3] Products will generally be shipped to you within 12-18 business days of the date of receiving the impression box from the customer and confirming the impression was taken as instructed. — www.upstep.com, accessed 2026-09-15
  4. [4] After delivery, following the 21-day adjustment period and within 180 days of delivery | 30% — www.upstep.com, accessed 2026-09-15
  5. [5] Original shipping, expedited shipping and rush-order fees are non-refundable. — www.upstep.com, accessed 2026-09-15
  6. [6] Download the Upstep app and scan your feet in minutes. — www.upstep.com, accessed 2026-09-15
  7. [7] Get Upstep's impression kit within 3 business days, imprint your feet at home, and send it back free of charge with our pre-paid return shipping label. — www.upstep.com, accessed 2026-09-14
  8. [8] $458 SALE $239 — www.upstep.com, accessed 2026-09-14
  9. [9] This website is owned by and operated by UPSTEP Ltd. — www.upstep.com, accessed 2026-09-15
  10. [10] We can proudly say that our orthotics are 100% custom-made and manufactured by our in-house team of fully licensed podiatrists. — www.upstep.com, accessed 2026-09-15
  11. [11] Unfortunately, we cannot make a health insurance claim on behalf of customers, nor guarantee that a health care provider will cover for an orthotic purchase. — www.upstep.com, accessed 2026-09-15

Who is writing this, and how

EvenStep makes custom orthotics from an at-home impression in our own workshop, which makes us one of the alternatives this page is about. So the page works in one direction only: we quote Upstep’s own pages, with the URL and the date we read each one, and we keep an archived copy. We describe other companies only in general terms, because we have not archived their pages, and we make no clinical claims about anyone’s product, since no published trial compares them.

The five facts that actually separate companies

Every mail-order orthotics company describes itself with the same adjectives, so adjectives will not help you choose. Five published facts will.

  1. Turnaround, in writing, from a defined starting point. Production time from receipt of your scan or impression, before the carrier’s transit.
  2. The refund table, not the guarantee line. What comes back at each stage, whether shipping fees are excluded, and who pays the return shipping.
  3. The capture method. Phone scan, foam impression, or a clinic visit, and what the workshop does with it.
  4. The price you would pay today. The figure on the checkout page, not the percentage in the banner.
  5. Where the product is made. A named location, or silence, and if a component is imported, whether the company says so plainly.

Upstep on those five facts

If you are searching for an alternative to Upstep you have already looked at Upstep, so it is the natural baseline, and its own pages answer four of the five.

On turnaround, its How it Works page states that orthotics are created and shipped within 16-22 business days of the scan [1], its FAQ on the same page states 10-16 business days [2], and its terms state 12-18 business days from receipt of an impression box [3]. On refunds, the terms deduct 30% after delivery, following a 21-day adjustment period [4], and exclude original, expedited and rush shipping fees [5]. The terms we archived do not say who pays the return shipping on a pair of orthotics sent back for a refund. On capture, the site describes an app-based phone scan [6] while the product page still describes an impression kit [7]. On price, the archived product page shows $239 against a struck-through list price of $458 [8]. On manufacturing location, the pages we archived do not state one; the terms identify the site operator as UPSTEP Ltd. [9]. The orthotics are described as designed and made by an in-house team of licensed podiatrists [10], and the FAQ states that the company cannot file insurance claims on a customer’s behalf [11].

The kinds of alternatives you will find

Without naming or quoting companies whose pages we have not archived, the market sorts into four shapes.

  • Scan-app brands. They remove the kit from the process. The questions to ask are the same five, especially where the device is made and what the refund table says.
  • Impression-kit brands. Foam boxes captured under your own weight, mailed back, and made in a workshop. Slower to start, because the kit has to travel to you and back.
  • Podiatrist-office custom devices. An examination, a prescription and a device made by a lab; the right route when the story needs an exam first.
  • Fitted prefabricated insoles. Not custom despite some of the marketing, but trials have not found custom devices clearly better for plantar heel pain (see Sources), so a well-chosen firm insole is an honest first step for many people.

EvenStep on the same five facts

We built the company around the checklist, so here is our column, the same numbers as every other page on this site.

  • Delivery: under 10 business days from the day your impression arrives — one figure, counted from the day we receive your impression, and refund-backed if we miss it.
  • Refund: 180-day 100% money-back guarantee — no deductions, free return shipping. No stage table, no shipping-fee carve-out.
  • Capture: an impression taken with our at-home foam impression kit under your own weight, mailed back with shipping paid both ways.
  • Price: $189 for the first pair and $139 for each additional pair, every day, with no list price to strike through.
  • Made where: Milled and finished by hand in our New York workshop, with the company physician-founded and its designs reviewed by our medical director.
  • Payment: FSA/HSA eligible — pay with your FSA/HSA card at checkout or submit our itemized receipt. We don't bill insurance.

How to use this page

Open the terms page of whichever company you are considering, find the refund table and the turnaround sentence, and write both down next to ours. Note who pays the return shipping on a refund, which is easy to miss. If a company does not publish one of the five facts, take the silence as the answer, because a figure a company is proud of tends to appear on its home page rather than in a support email. Then decide on the facts rather than the adjectives, and if your situation includes any red flag, an injury, night pain, swelling, numbness, fever, diabetes or poor circulation, see a clinician before you order from anyone, including us.

Verdict. Judge any custom orthotics company on five published facts before you judge it on adjectives: the turnaround in writing, the refund table, the capture method, the price you will actually pay, and where the product is made. Upstep publishes four of the five; EvenStep answers all five on this page, from one written set of numbers.

Sources

  1. Foot orthoses for plantar heel pain: a systematic review and meta-analysis (Whittaker et al., 2018) — Br J Sports Med via PubMed 28935689, accessed 2026-09-15
  2. Effectiveness of foot orthoses to treat plantar fasciitis: a randomized trial (Landorf et al., 2006) — Arch Intern Med via PubMed 16801514, accessed 2026-09-15

FAQ

Common questions

Still unsure? Write to care@evensteporthotics.com — a person answers.

Why should I care about turnaround in writing rather than a marketing line?

Because the written figure is the one a company can be held to. Upstep publishes three different windows across its pages, which tells you the marketing and the terms are not reconciled. Ask any company for one number, measured from a defined starting point, before you order.

What is the difference between a money-back guarantee and a refund table?

The guarantee is the promise; the table is the math. Upstep's terms deduct a share of the orthotic price at each stage of an order and exclude shipping fees, so the refund after delivery is smaller than the headline suggests. Read the table for every company, including ours.

Is a phone scan better than a foam impression?

Neither has been shown to produce better outcomes in a published trial that we can cite, so take it as a preference. A scan removes the kit from the process; a foam impression captures the foot under load in your own hands. What matters more is what the workshop does with either.

Are the cheapest online orthotics good enough?

Trials have not found custom devices clearly better than well-made prefabricated ones for plantar heel pain (a 2018 meta-analysis and a 2006 randomized trial, listed under Sources), so a low-cost fitted product can be a reasonable start. The risks are fit, materials and the refund terms if it does not work, which is why the checklist above starts with the terms.

Does EvenStep publish everything it asks other companies to publish?

Yes, in writing, and the same answers on every page. All five answers are in the table above, and our policies page overrules any page on this site that disagrees with it.

Should I see a podiatrist instead of buying online?

If your pain followed an injury, wakes you at night, or comes with swelling, numbness or fever, or if you have diabetes or poor circulation, yes, before any purchase. Mail-order orthotics of any brand are for the person whose situation is already understood.